top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaw Office of Brehm Bell

So you think you don’t need car insurance? Don’t test your luck.

About one in five car owners in Mississippi do not have car insurance, making our state one of the riskiest states to drive in. There are some legitimate and some silly reasons people don’t get coverage, and I’m going to dispute the ones I’ve seen and heard.



  1. I don’t have to have car insurance. Well, if you live in New Hampshire or Virginia, then that is, in fact, true. For the rest of us, including all of Mississippi, drivers are legally required to carry insurance on their vehicles. Drivers must meet your state’s minimum coverage amounts. In Mississippi, that means $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage per accident.

  2. I can’t afford it. It’s not the cheapest thing to have, but it’s a lot less expensive than paying for your repairs, someone else’s repairs, your medical bills, or even someone else’s medical bills should you be in an accident. Shop around, look for discounts, and get yourself covered.

  3. Insurance doesn’t cover that much. That could be true if you are underinsured, but anything is better than nothing. And it’s the law. Get the most coverage you can afford. The more coverage you have and the higher your limits are, the more expensive your premiums will be, but it also means you’ll have more protection in the event of an accident.

  4. I’m a safe driver, so I don’t need insurance. You’re not the only one on the road, friends. Look around the next time you’re at a stop light at how many of us are eating, texting, or generally distracted. It’s the same when you’re driving—presume everyone is distracted, and you stay focused.

  5. I rarely drive my car anymore. It doesn’t matter if you rarely drive your car; you are still required to have coverage.

  6. If caught, I’ll just get a slap on the wrist. Nope - driving without insurance in Mississippi is a misdemeanor. You could face a $1000 fine and license suspension for one year or until you can show proof that you have proper insurance.

  7. I don’t need Insurance; the other driver will have insurance. In 2019, MS had the highest uninsured motorist rate of any state in the country—29.4%. (Insurance Information Institute) You should make sure you have Uninsured Motorist Insurance coverage to protect you and your family in case you are hit by someone without insurance or without enough insurance.


For those without car insurance, the financial consequences of an accident can be overwhelming. Without coverage, you may be personally responsible for covering medical expenses, property damage, and other related costs. This not only places a substantial burden on the uninsured driver but also increases the likelihood of financial strain on the victims of the accident. Uninsured drivers may find themselves facing legal challenges that further complicate the difficulties experienced after an accident. Don’t put it off - be sure you have the proper insurance before you head out.

Comments


bottom of page